Thank you for visiting The Pennsylvania Chronicle. Please share your comments below and visit the Pennsylvania Chronicle Facebook and Twitter social media accounts.

Harrisburg, PA

Governor Wolf Announces Disaster Relief Funding Available for Farms in 14 PA Counties

Governor Tom Wolf today notified farmland owners in Columbia, Lebanon, and York counties that they are eligible to receive disaster relief funding from the United States Department of Agriculture. Also eligible are the adjacent counties of Adams, Berk, Cumberland, Dauphin, Lancaster, Luzerne, Lycoming, Montour, Northumberland, Schuylkill, and Sullivan.

“This funding will provide relief to Pennsylvania farmers who dealt with a year of unexpected difficulties due to severe weather,” said Governor Wolf. “I encourage those in eligible areas to apply, so that they can receive the assistance they need to help recoup losses ahead of the next growing season.”

The funding will help with losses caused by disasters that occurred during the 2018 crop year, such as excessive rain and flash flooding. It is the result of a Secretarial disaster declaration and can include emergency loans from the federal Farm Service Agency